FHA Student Loan Payment Calculation For 2021

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has updated the payment calculation of monthly obligation for student loans. The change is effective for all case numbers assigned on or after August 16, 2021

Lenders must include all student loans in the Borrower’s liabilities, regardless of the payment type or status of payments.

Required Documentation: If the payment used for the monthly obligation is less than the monthly payment reported on the Borrower’s credit report, the Lender must obtain written documentation of the actual monthly payment, the payment status, and evidence of the outstanding balance and terms from the creditor or student loan servicer. The Lender may exclude the payment from the Borrower’s monthly debt calculation where written documentation from the student loan program, creditor, or student loan servicer indicates that the loan balance has been forgiven, canceled, discharged, or otherwise paid in full.

Calculation of Monthly Obligation: For outstanding Student Loans, regardless of payment status, the Lender must use:

  • the payment amount reported on the credit report or the actual documented payment, when the payment amount is above zero; or
  • 5 percent of the outstanding loan balance, when the monthly payment reported on the Borrower’s credit report is zero

FHA announces major changes in in Mortgagee Letter 2021-13. We can now calculate your student loan payments based on 0.5% of the balance or take a Income Based Repayment Plan! FHA Updates the rules on Student Loan monthly payments deferred or Income Based Repayment plan… (4) Calculation of Monthly Obligation For outstanding Student Loans, regardless of payment status, the Mortgagee must use: • the payment amount reported on the credit report or the actual documented payment, when the payment amount is above zero; or • 0.5 percent of the outstanding loan balance, when the monthly payment reported on the Borrower’s credit report is zero.

FHA now allowing 0.5% on Student Loans instead of 1%

FHA now allowing 0.5% on Student Loans instead of 1%
On Friday, the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) announced updates to its student loan monthly payment calculations to take steps to remove barriers and provide more access to affordable single-family FHA-insured mortgage financing for creditworthy individuals with student loan debt.

The updated policy more closely aligns FHA student loan debt calculation policies with other housing agencies, helping to streamline and simplify originations for borrowers with student loan debt obligations.

This announcement enhances FHA’s ability to serve one of its core demographics—first-time homebuyers.

For all outstanding student loans, regardless of payment status, the payment must be calculated as follows:

If the payment on the credit report is greater than $0, use
the payment reporting on credit, or
the actual documented payment
If the payment on the credit report is $0, use
0.5% of the outstanding loan balance
If documented that the loan has been forgiven, canceled, or discharged in full, the payment can be excluded.

Lenders may implement the changes immediately but must implement the changes for FHA Case Numbers assigned on or after August 16, 2021.

Joel Lobb
Mortgage Loan Officer
Individual NMLS ID #57916

American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.10602 Timberwood Circle Louisville, KY 40223Company NMLS ID #1364

click here for directions to our office
Text/call:      502-905-3708fax:            502-327-9119
email:
          kentuckyloan@gmail.com

https://www.mylouisvillekentuckymortgage.com/

Louisville Kentucky Mortgage Rates for First Time Home Buyers

 

Do I qualify as a Kentucky first-time home buyer?

You are typically considered eligible to apply for first-time home buyer loans and benefits if you haven’t owned your principal residence within the past three years.

Some first-time home buyer assistance programs are even more lenient, offering financial aid in specific areas targeted for redevelopment, even to repeat buyers.

 

Kentucky First-time home buyer benefits

Benefits can include low- or no-down-payment loans, grants or forgivable loans for closing costs and down payment assistance, as well as federal tax credits with the Kentucky Housing Agency or KHC

 

Is there an income limit to qualify as a first-time home buyer?

Income limits come into play when you are applying for local, state or federal government assistance. Some national mortgage programs, such as loans issued or backed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, also have household income limits.

Some low-down-payment conventional loans do, too.

In these cases, your income may be benchmarked to local county limits for low- and moderate-income households.

Lenders, even those working with loan programs authorized by a state housing agency, will likely consider your debt-to-income ratio when determining if you qualify.

 

How to qualify for a first-time home buyer grant

Grants or forgivable loans that typically don’t require repayment are available to low- and moderate-income borrowers through state first-time home buyer programs. Approval standards vary by program and location but often include household income and home sale price limits.

How to qualify for down payment assistance

Just as for grants, down payment and closing cost assistance is often offered by local and state housing authorities. Again, qualifications vary. Look for income and home sale price caps here, too.

Don’t be surprised if a first-time home buyer class is required to qualify for a grant or down payment assistance. These classes are designed to help you navigate the homebuying process, and can be a good idea to take whether they’re mandatory or not.

 

What are the requirements to qualify for a first-time home buyer loan?

Qualifications required for approval of a loan vary by the type of mortgage — and even by the lender — but here are some general guidelines:

Kentucky Conventional loans:

For a 3% down payment, you’ll need at least a 620 FICO and a debt-to-income ratio below 50%. The higher your credit score or the lower your debt, the better your chances are for approval.

Kentucky FHA loans:

If you want a down payment as low as 3.5%, you’ll need a FICO score of 580 or higher. With 10% down, your required credit score may go as low as 500.

Kentucky VA loans:

Down payments aren’t generally required for a loan backed by the Department of Veterans Affairs. And while VA-backed loans don’t have a minimum FICO score as a part of their official requirements, many lenders look for a score of 620 or better.

KentukcyUSDA loans:

Another no-down-payment option, USDA-backed loans are typically issued for rural or suburban properties. Income limits apply. A FICO score of 640 or better is generally required, though exceptions with documentation can allow a lower score.

Lenders can add additional conditions, called “overlays,” to loan approval. This is another good reason to shop for more than one lender.

 

Joel Lobb
Mortgage Loan Officer
Individual NMLS ID #57916
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
 

Text/call:      502-905-3708

fax:            502-327-9119
email:
          kentuckyloan@gmail.com
 

Kentucky FHA Mortgage Qualifying Guidelines

Kentucky FHA Loans

The FHA is actually not the lender. They insure the loans that are issued by FHA-approved lenders. FHA loans are gear more toward borrower’s with less than 20% down payment and credit issues in the past.

Qualifying for a FHA Loan Mortgage In Kentucky

Credit Scores and Down Payment Percentages – Each year, the rules for qualifying for these loans changes. For 2020, applicants need a minimum credit score of 580 in order to get the low down payment, which is 3.5 percent.

For those whose credit score is less than 580, they will have to come up with 10 percent for their down payment. This does not guaranteed a mortgage loan approval if you have the certain credit scores, just a the minimum required.

Compensating Factors for FHA loan Approval

The credit score is just one part of the story. The FHA will also evaluate the borrower’s bankruptcies, foreclosures, prior payment history on other debts. They will also want information on difficulties that kept the borrower from making payments on other debts in the past.

Negative strikes against qualifying for the loan include not having any credit history or a bankruptcy.

Someone with a bankruptcy will have to wait for two or more years after their bankruptcy before applying for an FHA-insured loan.

If you have late payments on debt obligations, it is best to wait until you have had a full year of on-time payments before you apply for a FHA-insured loan.

If you have had a foreclosure in the past, you may still be able to get a FHA-insured loan three years after your foreclosure. The lender will be looking at the circumstances behind the foreclosure.

If you have had any civil judgement against you for money owed, collections actions or unpaid/unresolved federal debt, the FHA-approved lender will be required by the FHA to establish that all of these outstanding issues are resolved or paid before you can go through closing.

Watch out for student loans if they are delinquent because sometime this can cause a lien against you in the form of a CAVIRS Alert with HUD

As you can see, many types of borrowers who would not be eligible for a traditional mortgage, or who would face exorbitant interest rates, will be able to qualify for a FHA-insured loan at attractive interest rates.

Employment and Income for a Kentucky FHA Loan

You must have an employment history that is steady for the last two years. Does not have to be same employer.

Your income has to be verifiable in some way, whether that be through pay stubs, your income tax returns. No bank statements or cash deposits , or undocumented income can be used for income qualifying purposes.

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Debt-to-Income Ratio Requirements –

Depending on the automated underwriting system from Desktop Originator, your Debt-to-income ratio is the percentage of your income before taxes that you spend on monthly debt.

Taking into account the proposed mortgage payment as well as the other debts, the FHA requires that these debts all total less than 43 percent of your pretax income in order to qualify for the loan.

If your debt load is too high, you will struggle to pay all of your bills and mortgage expenses and care for yourself and your family.

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Property Requirements for a Kentucky FHA Loan

It must be the place where you intend to reside. You must move into the home within 60 days of closing the loan. The home cannot be an investment. There will be an inspection to ensure that the home is safe and habitable.

It is really not too hard to pass FHA loans and the appraisal process.

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Pros of FHA Loans –

  • New homebuyers and those who have lower credit scores or who have other blemishes on their credit history will often qualify for FHA-insured loans.

  • Even though these borrowers are considered “subprime” to a traditional lender, they will receive attractive interest rates through the FHA-insured mortgage programs.

  • The down payments required from borrowers are lower than those required by traditional mortgage lenders.

  • These loans can be combined with other forms of public assistance for lower income or new borrowers so that the borrower will not need to come up with a down payment of any kind.

Cons of FHA Loans –

  • Since the FHA is not actually the lender, and you have to go through FHA-approved lenders, you may not qualify due to stricter standards that the lender has for the loan.

  • Because you are not paying 20 percent as a down payment, the FHA requires two mortgage insurance premiums to be paid. One is an upfront premium that is 1.75 percent of the loan amount. Lenders often will allow you to make that mortgage insurance premium a part of your loan. The second is an annual mortgage insurance premium that is .45 percent or 1.05 percent. This premium is paid monthly.

 FHA FINANCING

CREDIT REQUIREMENTS FOR KENTUCKY FHA FINANCING

What credit score do I need to qualify for a Kentucky FHA loan is one of the most common questions I hear from Kentucky homebuyers?

The short answer is you must have a minimum credit score of 500 to be eligible for an FHA loan in Kentucky.  Anything lower than 500 disqualifies you from consideration for an FHA loan.

There are two sets of credit score requirements for a Kentucky FHA Loan

One important thing to understand is that the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) does not lend money directly to home buyers. You will fill out an application with a regular lender just as you would if you were applying for any other type of mortgage. What the FHA does is ensure your loan to help protect the lender in case you default.

You will be required not only to meet the FHA guidelines to qualify for a loan but also meet any additional qualifications required by the lender. This means there are two sets of requirements you have to meet with your credit score.

1. The first set of requirements comes from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). HUD oversees the FHA and determines what a borrower’s minimum eligibility requirements will be to obtain an FHA loan.

2. The second set of requirements comes from the mortgage lender. The mortgage lender has the right to add its requirements to those mandated by HUD.

What HUD requires of borrowers to be eligible for an FHA loan

The HUD Handbook 4000.1 includes the official guidelines when it comes to the FHA mortgage insurance program.

It states that in 2020 the Kentucky FHA borrowers with credit scores of 580 or higher are eligible for a 96.5% loan with 3.5% down.

Borrowers with credit scores from 500 to 579 are eligible for a 90% loan with 10% down.

Individuals with credit scores below 500 are not eligible for the FHA program.

What lenders may require of borrowers to be eligible for an Kentucky FHA loan

Lenders have the right to add requirements over and above the minimum requirements of HUD. These additional requirements are called overlays. Your lender may or may not require them.

This is not something that should come as a surprise to you, however. Requiring a credit score of 580 to 620 is not unusual. In addition to your credit score, you must have a manageable debt level that lenders are comfortable with and enough income to repay your loan.

What credit score do I need to qualify for FHA loan?

Each month Ellie Mae, the software company processing more than ⅓ of America’s mortgage loans, publishes an insight report for mortgage trends and standards. One of the things they track is average credit scores. The following is their report for November 2019 which shows what percentage of successful borrowers fall into what credit score ranges.

500 – 549    2.14%
550 – 599    5.20%
600 – 649    23.01%
650 – 699    34.74%
700 – 749    21.88%
750 – 799    10.87%
800+     1.89%

These percentages show that the majority of borrowers who successfully qualify for FHA loans fall into the 600 to 799 range. While it is true that some successfully qualify in the low range of 500 to 599, you have a much better chance of being approved for a loan with good terms and a low down payment if you fall into the higher range.

 

 

 

For your free credit report and analysis call us today at 502-905-3708 or email us at kentuckyloan@gmail.com

 
 
Joel Lobb (NMLS#57916)
Senior  Loan Officer
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
 
Company ID #1364 | MB73346
 


Text/call 502-905-3708
kentuckyloan@gmail.com

 

 

If you are an individual with disabilities who needs accommodation, or you are having difficulty using our website to apply for a loan, please contact us at 502-905-3708.

 

Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/

 

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CREDIT SCORE REQUIREMENTS FOR KENTUCKY FHA FINANCING

CREDIT REQUIREMENTS FOR KENTUCKY FHA FINANCING

What credit score do I need to qualify for a Kentucky FHA loan is one of the most common questions I hear from Kentucky homebuyers?

The short answer is you must have a minimum credit score of 500 to be eligible for an FHA loan in Kentucky.  Anything lower than 500 disqualifies you from consideration for an FHA loan.

There are two sets of credit score requirements for a Kentucky FHA Loan

One important thing to understand is that the Federal Housing Administration (FHA) does not lend money directly to home buyers. You will fill out an application with a regular lender just as you would if you were applying for any other type of mortgage. What the FHA does is ensure your loan to help protect the lender in case you default.

You will be required not only to meet the FHA guidelines to qualify for a loan but also meet any additional qualifications required by the lender. This means there are two sets of requirements you have to meet with your credit score.

1. The first set of requirements comes from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). HUD oversees the FHA and determines what a borrower’s minimum eligibility requirements will be to obtain an FHA loan.

2. The second set of requirements comes from the mortgage lender. The mortgage lender has the right to add its requirements to those mandated by HUD.

What HUD requires of borrowers to be eligible for an FHA loan

The HUD Handbook 4000.1 includes the official guidelines when it comes to the FHA mortgage insurance program.

It states that in 2020 the Kentucky FHA borrowers with credit scores of 580 or higher are eligible for a 96.5% loan with 3.5% down.

Borrowers with credit scores from 500 to 579 are eligible for a 90% loan with 10% down.

Individuals with credit scores below 500 are not eligible for the FHA program.

What lenders may require of borrowers to be eligible for an Kentucky FHA loan

Lenders have the right to add requirements over and above the minimum requirements of HUD. These additional requirements are called overlays. Your lender may or may not require them.

This is not something that should come as a surprise to you, however. Requiring a credit score of 580 to 620 is not unusual. In addition to your credit score, you must have a manageable debt level that lenders are comfortable with and enough income to repay your loan.

What credit score do I need to qualify for FHA loan?

Each month Ellie Mae, the software company processing more than ⅓ of America’s mortgage loans, publishes an insight report for mortgage trends and standards. One of the things they track is average credit scores. The following is their report for November 2019 which shows what percentage of successful borrowers fall into what credit score ranges.

500 – 549    2.14%
550 – 599    5.20%
600 – 649    23.01%
650 – 699    34.74%
700 – 749    21.88%
750 – 799    10.87%
800+     1.89%

These percentages show that the majority of borrowers who successfully qualify for FHA loans fall into the 600 to 799 range. While it is true that some successfully qualify in the low range of 500 to 599, you have a much better chance of being approved for a loan with good terms and a low down payment if you fall into the higher range.

 

 

 

For your free credit report and analysis call us today at 502-905-3708 or email us at kentuckyloan@gmail.com

Joel Lobb (NMLS#57916)
Senior  Loan Officer
 
American Mortgage Solutions, Inc.
10602 Timberwood Circle Suite 3
Louisville, KY 40223
Company ID #1364 | MB73346
 


Text/call 502-905-3708
kentuckyloan@gmail.com

 

If you are an individual with disabilities who needs accommodation, or you are having difficulty using our website to apply for a loan, please contact us at 502-905-3708.

 

Disclaimer: No statement on this site is a commitment to make a loan. Loans are subject to borrower qualifications, including income, property evaluation, sufficient equity in the home to meet Loan-to-Value requirements, and final credit approval. Approvals are subject to underwriting guidelines, interest rates, and program guidelines and are subject to change without notice based on applicant’s eligibility and market conditions. Refinancing an existing loan may result in total finance charges being higher over the life of a loan. Reduction in payments may reflect a longer loan term. Terms of any loan may be subject to payment of points and fees by the applicant  Equal Opportunity Lender. NMLS#57916http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/

 

 

 

 

How to Ditch FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums

Originally Posted On: https://thelindleyteam.com/how-to-ditch-fha-mortgage-insurance-premiums/ When you get a mortgage, you’re signing a million sheets of paper and agreeing to pay a lot…

Source: How to Ditch FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums

 

When you get a mortgage, you’re signing a million sheets of paper and agreeing to pay a lot of things that you may not understand at the time. Closing costs, down payments, inspections, real estate agent fees, home insurance, escrow, and so on and so forth. One of the numbers that may have gotten rolled into that list is mortgage insurance premiums.

If you got an FHA loan, you’re almost certainly paying FHA mortgage insurance premiums. Read on to learn more about what these are, how much you might be paying each month, and how you can get out from under them.

What Are FHA Mortgage Insurance Premiums?

Before the Federal Housing Administration was founded, in order to qualify to buy a house, mortgage applicants had to have excellent credit and a large down payment. This made it harder for people to buy homes, so the FHA was established to make this process easier for first-time homebuyers. The FHA does not actually give loans they just insure them.

Mortgage insurance is a policy that protects your lender in case you default on your loan. It allows lenders to make higher-risk loans without worrying about losing money. You pay the premiums for that insurance policy as a part of your agreement with the loan.

Mortgage Insurance Rates

If your loan was $625,000 or less and you got a thirty-year fixed-rate mortgage and you paid less than 5 percent on a down payment, you’ll have an annual mortgage insurance premium of 0.85 percent of your loan. If you put down more than 5 but less than 10 percent, you’ll pay 0.8 percent for the life of the loan. If you put down more than 10 percent, you’ll pay 0.8 percent for the first eleven years of the loan

For loans less than $625,000 with a fifteen-year fixed-rate note where you paid less than 10 percent down, you’ll pay 0.7 percent of your loan amount every year for the life of the loan. If you paid more than 10 percent, you’ll pay 0.45 percent every year for the first eleven years.

If you have a mortgage greater than $625,000 with a thirty-year fixed-rate loan and you paid less than 10 percent down, you’ll pay 1 percent of your mortgage every year for the life of the loan. If you paid more than 10 percent down, you’ll pay a slightly higher 1.05 percent, but only for the first eleven years.

And finally, if your loan is greater than $625,000, you have a 15-year fixed-rate mortgage, and you paid less than ten percent down, you’ll pay 0.95 percent of your loan every year for the life of the loan. If you paid more than 10 percent but less than 22 percent, you’ll pay 0.7 percent for the first eleven years of the loan. And if you paid more than 22 percent, you’ll pay 0.45 percent every year for the first eleven years.

How to Get Out of Mortgage Insurance

The good news is that you aren’t stuck forever. Once you get about 20 percent equity in your house, either through improvements or paying down the loan, you can refinance your mortgage. With that 20 percent, you should be able to get a mortgage that doesn’t require FHA protection.

Even if you don’t yet have 20 percent equity in the house, you may be able to refinance into a lower mortgage insurance premium bracket. If you can get 10 percent to put down on your new mortgage, for instance, you may be able to drop to a lower monthly percentage that you’re paying.

Reappraise

Depending on where you live and what work you’ve done on the house, you may be able to get 20 percent equity without having to pay all that money in. If property values in your area are on the rise, your home may be worth more now than when you bought it. The same goes for home improvements, and that total may leave you with more than 20 percent equity in your home so you can refinance out of your mortgage insurance.

A great way to determine if this is the case for you is to have your home appraised again. A home appraisal will cost somewhere between $300 and $400. If you’re paying $520 a month for mortgage insurance premiums (1 percent on a $625,000 loan), this will pay for itself immediately.

How to Refinance

Once you get 20 percent equity in your house, no matter how you do it, you can refinance into a new mortgage. Start by shopping around and applying for a new mortgage with three or four lenders. This will give you an idea of what sort of interest rates you’re looking at and what your new monthly payment should be.

Once you find a lender you like, lock in your interest rate and start on the process of getting the loan closed. You’ll need a fair amount of paperwork for both the application and closing processes. Your last several pay stubs, tax returns, credit reports, and statements of your assets and outstanding debts are a good place to start.

Getting a Home Inspection In Louisville Kentucky- List of Home Inspectors Louisville, KY

List of Home Inspectors Louisville, KY

Kentucky Mortgage Broker Offering FHA, VA, USDA, Conventional, and KHC Down Payment Assistance Home Loans's avatarLouisville Kentucky Mortgage Loans

via Getting a Home Inspection In Louisville Kentucky- List of Home Inspectors Louisville, KY

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Kentucky Approved HUD Home Inspector List below I

HUD’s Inspector Roster was eliminated effective August 2, 2018, as announced in Federal Register Docket No. FR-5457-F-02, dated July 3, 2018.

Inspectors as of 12/21/2018
(45 records were selected, 45 records displayed.)
Name ID Number Address Phone Status Approval State
WILOUGHBY, DANNY G A022 215 CLUB OAK COURT
LOUISVILLE, KY 40223
(502) 653-3688 Active KY
AUBREY, DELMUS A380 3903 BOWMAN LANE
CHATTANOOGA, TN 37416
(423) 954-2655 Active KY
PAPPERT, CHRIS F A901 4880 MARYBROOK DR
KETTERING, OH 45429
(937) 436-3676 Active KY
EPLING, RICHARD J B387 121 NORTH CUMBERLAND ST
MORRISTOWN, TN 37814
(423) 581-5583 Active KY
FLICK, FERDINAND J B637 3771 POWNER RD
CINCINNATI, OH 45248
(513) 574-5784 Active KY
TOLLIVER, JAMES R B931 POST OFFICE BOX 304
MOUNT WASHINGTON, KY 40047
(502) 428-6361 Active KY
JONES, TIMOTHY E C894 6960 US RTE 52
RIPLEY, OH 45167
(937) 392-1561 Active KY
HUFF, TONY D730 2200 AIRPORT RD, SUITE…

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Five strategies for first time home buyers Kentucky 2018

What You Need To Know About A Mortgage… BEFORE You Get One!!!

Qualifying for a Mortgage

Home LoansMortgage companies are in business to make money by lending money that is secured by an asset large enough to sell and recover their capital if the borrower is no longer able or willing to pay the payments. They are not in the business of owning property and would rather not have to foreclose on a loan, repossess the property and sell it to recapture their capital. This does happen but it is not their primary business. They would rather have their borrowers make their payments so that they could collect the interest and move on down the road. To increase their odds of that happening, mortgage companies look at several areas of your financial history to determine if you will meet their standards. This is called Qualifying for a Mortgage.

What the mortgage company finds when they look at these areas will help determine the type of mortgage that is available to you and the interest rate you will pay on the money that you borrow.

The areas that they are interested in looking at are:

Job History

Lenders want to know if you have been in your current job and/or profession for at least two years. They also want to know if you are retired or self-employed.

Income

TaxesMortgage lenders want to know how much your monthly income is before taxes are taken out (Gross Monthly Income). Typically you will be asked to provide check stubs for the last 30 days and Federal Tax Returns or W-2’s for the last two years to prove your income.

If you are self-employed and it is difficult for you to prove your gross income to the lender you may be able to get a “stated income” loan. If that is the route that you take, your income must be “reasonable” for your profession. Since stated income loans are riskier for the lender you will generally have a higher interest rate.

Credit History

Mortgage lenders really like it if you have a history of paying your bills on time. This is reflected in your credit report and FICO score. If you have “bad credit”, you are NOT automatically disqualified from getting a mortgage. Lower credit scores will increase the interest rate that you will be required to pay and sometimes that increase will be quite significant.

Debt Load

You can have an awesome job with an income to make Bill Gates jealous and a great credit score but if you have already acquired too much long term debt you may not qualify for the loan you want.

Assets

Mortgage lenders will want to check your bank accounts to make sure that you have the cash necessary to pay the down payment and closing costs and that you have “reserves” available to make the loan payment. Often, the lender will require 3-6 months reserves. (Reserves can be in a 401K or other retirement account that you can pull the money out of)

Requested Loan Amount

The loan you are requesting will need to be proportional to your ability to make the payments. Be reasonable with your house buying expectations – don’t expect to buy a lot more house than you can afford. The recent housing bust defined the term “house poor” and got a lot of people into financial trouble. Again, mortgage lenders would much rather you make your monthly house payments because everyone loses if they have to foreclose.

Determining YOUR Mortgage Interest Rate

The market place determines the range of interest rates available for any mortgage and the lending rates change daily. The specific interest rate you will pay is based on how well qualified you are and the type of loan you want.

Interest rates are typically based on the answers to these questions:

How Good Is Your Credit Score? 

FICO ScoreThe most widely used score is the FICO score, the credit score created by Fair Isaac Corporation. Lenders use the FICO Score to help them make billions of credit decisions every day. Fair Isaac calculates the FICO Score based solely on information in consumer credit reports maintained by the credit reporting agencies.

FICO credit scores range from 300 to 850. That FICO Score is calculated by a mathematical equation that evaluates many types of information from your credit report, at that agency. By comparing this information to the patterns in hundreds of thousands of past credit reports, the FICO Score estimates your level of future credit risk.

With the top end of the credit score being 850, anything above about 720 is considered excellent. Some local lenders set 740 as the benchmark for their preferred interest rates. Having a lower credit score DOES NOT mean you will not get a loan. You may qualify BUT your interest rate will be higher than someone with better credit.

How Big Is Your Down-Payment?
The Down-Payment is the amount of your own money you are going to put into buying the property. The more money you put into the property on the front end, the lower the risk of you not paying the payments. The amount of your down payment also directly affects the amount of your loan (purchase price – down payment = loan amount). This is called the Loan to Value Ratio (LTV).

The LTV is the percentage of the value of the house that the mortgage will cover (loan amount / purchase price x 100). For example, the property you are interested in buying is selling for $100,000. You have $20,000 for the down-payment and want a mortgage for the other $80,000. The LTV for this mortgage is 80%.

Similar to the LTV is the Combined Loan to Value Ratio (CLTV). The CLTV is used when 2 loans are used to finance the home purchase. You may see or hear terms like “80-20” or “80-15-5”. This refers to the 1st lien percentage (80), the 2nd lien percentage (20 or 15) and the down payment percentage (5).

How Much Debt Do You Currently Have?

It only makes sense that the more debt you have the riskier the loan is for the lender. There is a finite amount of income in all of our households and it all gets allocated every month. Lenders use a “debt-to-income” ratio to determine how qualified you are for the loan based on how much debt you already have.

Your Debt to Income Ratio (DTI) is the percentage of your income that you owe in debt on a monthly basis. For example, if you make $5,000 per month, and have debt payments (car loans, credit cards, student loans, etc.) of $2,000, your DTI ratio is 40%. The higher this ratio is, the less likely you will be to qualify for a low interest rate.

Conventional loans typically have a qualifying ratio of 28/36. FHA loans will sometimes allow for a higher debt load of 29/41 qualifying ratio.

The first number in a qualifying ratio is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to your mortgage. That includes the loan principal and interestprivate mortgage insuranceproperty taxeshomeowners insurance, and homeowner’s association dues.

The second number is the maximum percentage of your gross monthly income that can be applied to housing expenses and recurring debt. Recurring debt includes monthly payments for carsboatsmotorcycleschild support payments and monthly credit card payments.

 Example:  of a 28/36 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .28 = $1400 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .36 = $1,800 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

Example: of a 29/41 qualifying ratio:

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .29 = $1,450 can be applied to housing.

Gross monthly income of $5,000 x .41 = $2,050 can be applied to recurring debt plus housing expenses

These are just general guidelines and everyone’s personal finances are unique.

 

Here is a KEY point to remember…

Your credit score is one of the most vital piece of information when qualifying for a loan and you can greatly affect it too. 

Below are the important items I will discuss:

  • What is a credit report?
  • What do mortgage lenders use to determine my credit score?
  • What does FICO stand for?
  • What determines my FICO score?
  • What’s a good FICO score?
  • What if my FICO score is below 620?
  • Can I get a copy of my credit report?
  • Ah Ha! Now I understand all things credit and I’m this much closer to owning my home!

What is a credit report?

A credit report record’s your credit history including information about:

  • Your identity: name, social security number, date of birth and possibly employment information.
  • Your existing credit: credit card accounts, mortgages, car loans, students loans etc.including credit terms, how much you owe, and your payment history.
  • Your public record: Judgments against you, tax liens or bankruptcies.
  • Recent Credit Inquiries: Requests for your information from companies extending credit such as credit card companies, auto loans, etc.

Be aware, credit card companies, car companies and mortgage lenders use slightly different models to determine credit risk. Today we are focusing on Mortgage related credit.

How do lenders calculate my credit score?

Your credit score is the key to your castle. Your home is most likely the most expensive purchase you will ever make. Therefore, when buying a home, lenders use a different system for assessing risk than credit card companies or even auto loan companies use.

Mortgage lenders use a comprehensive system of checking credit called a Residential Mortgage Credit Report (RMCR), commonly called a “Tri-Merge” report. The RMCR report combines your three credit reports from the three national credit bureaus, Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion. Each credit reporting agency calculates your credit score or FICO Score differently. Therefore, pulling from all three bureaus gives lenders a more complete picture of your credit behavior.

Once pulled, lenders use the average of these three scores, usually the middle score, to determine loan qualification and interest rate. For example, if Equifax gives you a 720, Experian a 730 and TransUnion a 740, the lender will use the 730 FICO Score to help determine the terms of your mortgage. If you are applying for a loan jointly, your partner’s three reports will also be pulled.

What does FICO stand for?

FICO stands Fair, Isaac and Company. Over 25 years ago, lenders began using FICO’s scoring model, or algorithm, to fairly and more accurately determine a person’s credit risk. Since it’s inception, FICO’s continually updates its’ algorithms to reflect more current lending trends and consumer behaviors. Today, FICO Scores are used by over 90% of enders. Importantly, your FICO score can impact your loan interest rates, terms, approvals and more.

What determines my FICO score?

A Mortgage FICO score is determined by an algorithm that generally looks at five credit factors including payment history, current level of indebtedness, types of credit used, length of credit history and new credit accounts.

What’s a good FICO score?

To qualify for a conventional loan, most Mortgage lenders require a FICO score of 620+. The best interest rates go to borrowers with a 740+ FICO score. For each 40 point drop, borrowers can expect to see a slightly higher interest rates by about 0.2 percentage points.  If a borrower drops below 660, the increase is likely to be twice as big, a 0.43 percentage point increase. If your credit score is below 620, it is very difficult to get a conventional loan in today’s marketplace. However, don’t be discouraged. You may still be able to buy a home.

Qualifying Credit Scores

What if my FICO or credit score is below 620?

If your score is below 620, you may still be able to buy a home. There are several options:

  • Put more money down. Some lenders offset a weak credit score with a higher down payment. A higher down payment gives you more equity in your home, lowering the lender’s risk.
  • You may qualify for a non conventional government issued loan such as an FHA, Veterans Affairs and/or U.S. Department of Agriculture loan which have less stringent lending requirements.
  • You may work to get that credit score up!
    • Correct any errors on your report. Analyze your credit items line by line. If you notice a mistake, dispute it right away with either the credit bureau providing the report or the company that providing the incorrect information to the credit bureau.
    • Make all your payments on time. Late payments are the No. 1 way to lower  your credit score.
    • Pay down revolving debt. Keeping your credit balances low helps to raise your score.
    • Sit back and relax. As long as you’re paying down debt and making payments on time, your credit score will eventually rise on its own.

Can I get a copy of my credit report after a lender has pulled it?

Yes! In fact, you can get one free credit report every twelve months from each of the nationwide credit bureaus—Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion. You may also purchase your credit score at any time from any of the credit bureaus. Some Mortgage lenders will tell you your score when you apply for a loan or even give you a copy of your report but they are not required to do so. However, if a lender denies you credit, under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) you are entitled to a free copy of your personal credit report if you have received notice that in the past 60 days you have been declined credit.

You ALWAYS get a free copy of your credit report from me.

If you’re ready to buy a new home and want to shop around for the best deal on a mortgage…

Looking for a mortgage, auto or student loan may cause multiple lenders to request your credit report, even though you are only looking for one loan. To compensate for this, the score ignores mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries made in the 30 days prior to scoring. So, if you find a loan within 30 days, the inquiries won’t affect your score while you’re rate shopping. In addition, the score looks on your credit report for mortgage, auto, and student loan inquiries older than 30 days. If it finds some, it counts those inquiries that fall in a typical shopping period as just one inquiry when determining your score. For FICO scores calculated from older versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 14 day span. For FICO scores calculated from the newest versions of the scoring formula, this shopping period is any 45 day span. Each lender chooses which version of the FICO scoring formula it wants the credit reporting agency to use to calculate your FICO score.

What Type of Loan Are You Looking For?

40 year fixed, 30 year fixed, 20 year fixed, 15 year fixed, 10 Year Fixed, Adjustable Rate, etc. All of these loan types have different interest rate ranges.

Locking Your Interest Rate

Once you have completed a loan application, determined what type of loan you want and qualified for that loan you can “lock” the interest rate for that loan. Locking the Interest Rate means, for the period of the “lock” you are guaranteed that interest rate. Lock periods are typically 15, 30 or 60 days, although you may be able to get an extended lock period.

Once you lock your interest rate:

If you do not close on the loan before the lock period expires, you will NOT have a guaranteed interest rate anymore. And, the longer the lock period, the higher the rate will be. For example, a 15 day lock may be at 5.125%, a 30 day lock at 5.25%, and a 60 day lock at 5.375%. So, before locking your loan, be sure you are not locking for too long a time or for too short a time.

Interest rates fluctuate daily and may go up or down. By locking your rate, you are betting that rates will go up in the future.

 What does “Buying Down” the Interest Rate Mean?

You can reduce the interest rate on your mortgage by paying “points” at closing. A point is 1% of the value of the loan, so a point on a $200,000 loan is $2,000. If you “buy down” you loan to a lower interest rate you will have lower monthly payments and pay less interest over the life of the loan. However, “buying down” you loan to a lower interest rate means more money out of your pocket on the front end when you close the loan. You should do the math and weigh each side of the equation before making a decision about buying down the interest rate or not.

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What Are The Closing Costs and Fees?

There are four types of closing costs and fees…

Those charged by the mortgage company and/or mortgage broker, those charged by 3rd party vendors, those charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney and Pre-Paid Charges.

Lender Fees

These can include loan origination fees and Broker fees which are usually a percentage of the loan amount; administrative fees and application fees, processing fees and underwriting fees. These last fees usually run from $100 to $500, and ALL of them are negotiable.

3rd Party Vendor charges

These are charges collected by the lender and paid to outside companies that provide a service. These are not usually negotiable and can include appraisal charges, flood certification fees, courier charges, document prep fees, mortgage lender attorney fees, etc.

Title Company charges

These are the fees charged by the Title Company, Escrow Company or Escrow Attorney. They are usually set by the state and are not negotiable. These charges include title insurance, attorney fees, state/county/city registration fees, etc.

Pre-Paid Charges

If the lender will be establishing an escrow account to pay taxes and insurance, the buyer will pre-pay taxes and insurance to establish an escrow account and will pre-pay the interest on the loan until the end of the month in which the loan closes.

 Does The Closing Date Really Matter?

The day you choose to close determines the amount of pre-paid interest you will have to pay. Closing at the end of the month means that you will pay less pre-paid interest. For example, if you close on October 1st you will pay 31 days of pre-paid interest. If you close on October 31st you will pay 1 day of pre-paid interest.

When Is My First Payment Due?

It doesn’t matter what day of the month you close on, you will not have your first loan payment due until a month has passed. So, if you close in October, your first payment is due in December – you get November for free!

What Is PMI?

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) is required on all loans that have a LTV greater than 80%. PMI is an insurance premium that you pay every month as part of your monthly payment. However, PMI is not intended to protect you. PMI is insurance coverage that protects the mortgage lender against default on the loan. If you stop making your payments, the mortgage lender is paid a percentage of the loan amount (usually 25% to 35%) by the insurance company.

We suggest that our clients use a local mortgage lender and avoid the big banks. Local lenders provide excellent service, you talk to the same person throughout the loan process, if something is (or isn’t) happening with the loan they can easily check on it with someone right there in their office.

What Other Questions Do You Have?

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If you have mortgage questions, ask them in the comments section so others will get the answer too.

If you want a personalized answer for your unique situation call, text, or email me.

 

 

The view and opinions stated on this website belong solely to the authors, and are intended for informational purposes only. The posted information does not guarantee approval, nor does it comprise full underwriting guidelines. This does not represent being part of a government agency. The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the view of my employer. Not all products or services mentioned on this site may fit all people. NMLS ID# 57916, (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). Mortgage loans only offered in Kentucky.

 

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22 New Fannie Mae Homes in Kentucky

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$25,000Just Listed

3801 Herd Elias Rd
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3 Beds |2 Baths | 1634 sq. ft.

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2204 Parkwood Rd
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Florence, KY 41042

4 Beds |3 Baths | 2776 sq. ft.

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158 Baker Ave
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Covington, KY 41011

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2116 Quillman Rd
Louisville, KY 40214

4 Beds |1 Baths | 1440 sq. ft.

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Kentucky $15,000 Down payment Assistance Grant For Kentucky Home Buyers in 2016

 

 

New Income Limits for Jefferson County Kentucky and Louisville Home Buyers lacking a down payment.

The new income limits for Kentucky Housing loans are based on annual borrower income, and vary by county. Here’s how they break down for Central Kentucky and the Louisville area:

  • Purchase price up to $294,000 with Secondary Market and max household income is limited to $112,000 with MRB for Jefferson County Kentucky. No homeownership in last 3 years and a minimum credit score of 640. Max debt to income ratios of 40 an 45%

khcdapmarhta

 

 

 
Joel Lobb
Senior  Loan Officer
(NMLS#57916)
 

phone: (502) 905-370
 

Kentucky FHA Mortgage Guidelines Changes for 2015

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Did You Know that Kentucky Mortgage FHA Income Requirements changed in October 2015?

• Job Changes –

FHA loan rules instruct lenders to, favorably consider a borrower for a mortgage if he/she changes jobs frequently within the same line of work, but continues to advance in income or benefits. In this instance, income stability takes precedence over job stability.

And FHA loan applicants who have been out of a job for a while but have since returned to employment may have their income considered effective and stable when recently returning to work after an extended absence if he/she:
–is employed in the current job for six months or longer, and
–can document a two year work history prior to an absence from employment using traditional employment verifications, and/or copies of W-2 forms or pay stubs.

Note: An acceptable employment situation includes an individual who took several years off from employment to raise children, then returned to the workforce.

• Employment Gaps –

For borrowers with gaps – FHA does not require a minimum length of time that a borrower must have held a position of employment. However, the lender must verify the borrowers employment for the most recent two full years, and the borrower must:
–explain any gaps in employment that span one or more months, and
–indicate if he/she was in school or the military during the most recent two full years, providing evidence supporting this claim, such as college transcripts, or discharge papers.

When analyzing the probability of continued employment, the lender must examine –the borrowers past employment record
–qualifications for the position
–previous training and education, and
–the employers confirmation of continued employment

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Joel Lobb
Senior Loan Officer
(NMLS#57916)

 

phone: (502) 905-3708
Fax: (502) 327-9119
kentuckyloan@gmail.com
http://www.mylouisvillekentuckymortgage.com/